What’s Next…

So, I just committed to being a captain for the kid’s club tourney this Saturday on the Harris Chain of Lakes… Work has been crazy, so I’m really looking forward to getting the boat out and fishing a bit with the kids. Plus, we have our regular club tourney the following weekend on the Harris Chain, so hopefully the kids will figure out some patterns that I may be able to use the following weekend.

That being said, there’s probably more than a few product write-ups (Reviews) that I need to do. Mainly regarding 13 Fishing rods (Club sponsor) and the Daiwa Tatula line of baitcasting reels.

I’ve become a big fan of 13 Fishing rods ever since I won one in a charity tournament. The one I won is probably my favorite rod. I’ve been meaning to purchase more of them, but have only managed to purchase one additional one – so there are two in my current arsenal.

The one I recently purchased was out of this line: http://www.tacklewarehouse.com/13_Fishing_Envy_Black_Casting_Rods/descpage-FEBC.html. TW had it on sale during December, and my frogging rod has seen better days, so I bought a 13 Fishing Envy Black Casting Rod 7’3″ Heavy with extra fast tip. It is a great frogging rod, but more so if you are fishing from a casting deck on a boat. If you’re throwing hollow bodied frogs from the shore, I’d recommend the 7’1 version. I’ve noticed that when fishing from the shore, the 2 extra inches is a bit too much in some cases. The rod itself is fantastic. Great quality and very light. Great sensitivity as well…

I’ve been on a Diawa Tatula kick ever since buying my first one a year or two back. I now have 4 or 5 different versions, including the Zillion version (Daiwa Zillion TWS Casting Reel 100XXSL) that I got on sale. All of them are tremendous reels for the money. I was a hardcore Shimano guy before I got on the Tatula kick, but since I can get basic high-speed lefty Tatulas online for around $110 a pop (Amazon, shipped to my door), I’ve not really looked back. Phenomenal product at that price-point. Every bit as good as my more expensive, Shimano reels that I’ve obtained over the years.

I’ll try to do more in-depth reviews of the above at some point, with pics. Stay tuned…

So, in closing, if you know of any hot patterns on the Harris Chain right now, feel free to message me or comment!

I’m shameless, I know…

This entry was posted in 13 Fishing, Bass Club, Bass Fishing, Bay Area Bassmasters, Daiwa, Harris Chain, Pre-Spawn, Reels, Rods, Tackle, Tampa Bay Junior Bassmasters, Team Tournament. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment